Thank you God for my little boy “Juniour”!!

Posted: July 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

I talk to God pretty frequently…everyday without fail. I’ve tried my whole life to thank Him for the blessings that He’s bestowed upon me even more-so than being the believer that asks for everything first and gives thanks only when he gets what he asks for.

I want to write this in hopes that one day; my little boy can read it and know how important he is to me.

Dear God, thank you so much for my little boy Junior. I don’t thank You enough for what it is that he means to me and how having him in my life has made it meaningful and worth living. I’ve grown as much as a man since you brought him into my life. You have changed my perspective on the dynamic between men and women. You’ve heightened my sensitivity to women because one day I will have a young man and I may need you to understand things that I can learn now. It’s so important that I wish to be well rounded for him. It’s so important that you knows that I strive to be the best man that I can so that he’ll be proud of me one day.

One of the most amazing and true to God-like experiences that I’ve had having a child is this. Years ago when I was trying to date some ladies, Junior’s mum made a hard decision. I knew good and well that it would be decades before Junior would or could ever comprehend the extent of stress and pressure that went into making the decision to have him. I knew that it would be a lifetime before I could tell him of that decision that I actually made for HIM. The details of that situation are irrelevant…But the moral of the story is pertinent. Just like the decisions people make on a day-to-day basis when no one is looking, this was just like that for me. In life, I guess the struggle is to have as many of those stories as possible…no one saw me do the right thing but I did because God always knows and sees. I am so thankful to have not only a human example of God on earth BUT a human bridge to Him.

When it is all said and done, that’s what God has blessed me with. A human being on earth that gives me immediate accountability. A life to guard with my own that FORCES me to fight the good fight and walk the walk and talk the talk because his little ears are listening. Even better is that right now he’s oblivious. These are my “no body’s watching” moments…at least he isn’t. He won’t know for years what the story of his daddy is when he was born, 1, 2, 3, 4 years old etc. He’ll hear a hodge-podge of stories and have to create a picture of what he thinks that I was. God gave me a tool NOW that holds me accountable later. I’m thankful for that. The parallel between this accountability and my accountability to do the right things in life are uncanny. I don’t think they are a coincidence either.

Thank you God for bringing this little handsome son. He’s the best thing that ever happened to me.

Noor “Ba Junior”

Leave a Reply

