Why Did I Said Yes

Posted: June 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

Image

So after he proposed, and I said yes, he sighed and said;

“Tayana, I have some questions for you to answer”.

I looked at my fourth finger and sighed;

I just got engaged to the man and he has started questioning me.

What’s he about to ask now? I mused.

 

‘‘I hope he is not going to ask me how many men I have slept with, or if I have ever been pregnant.’’ I stylishly put my left hand behind me. ‘‘There is no way he will get this beautiful ring back.’’ I decided

And then he started…

 

“Tayana, why did you say yes”?

 

I sighed inwardly once again, what kind of JAMB question is this one now I asked myself. I smiled at him ready to tell him it was only because I loved him so much. I however decided to be honest.

 

‘‘John, I accepted your proposal for the following reasons’’;

  1. I am honest to GOD tired of living with my parents.
  2. I haven’t gotten any other offer yet and I will soon be 28.
  3. I am tired of my sister telling me what and what not to touch in her house. I want to be a madam of my own house too.
  4. I really want to stop hearing my mum nag about how a part of the house wasn’t properly cleaned.
  5. I think it’s time to have my wedding pictures on facebook too
  6. I also said yes because I love the ring,

 

‘‘I couldn’t say no to such a ring’’, I concluded grinning oblivious to the shocked expression on his face.

 

He stood up and left the room without a word.

I watched him leave wondering why people hated to hear the truth. I made myself comfortable and looked for a perfect angle for the proposal picture, the one I was about to shock the social media world with. My stalkers revealed themselves when barely a second after I posted it on Twitter and facebook, the comments began.

“Oh babe congrats”

“I’m so happy for you”                       

“When is the wedding”?

I responded to the first person with “thanks hun” and copied it; it was to be the standard response to everyone.

*****

I relaxed on John’s bed and changed the channel to DTV, One of the problems I was sure our marriage was going to have will be John’s preoccupation with other Channel and the boring series he keep watching. I was having fun but kept feeling as if something was missing, after a full hour and there was still no sign of John, I sighed and picked my phone, he picked on the first ring.

“Hi baby”

“Tayana”, he said simply

“Baby, are you pissed at what I said”?

 “Hmm”, he replied

“You know without any doubt that I want to be with you but for now those are my reasons”

‘‘Love grows with time. You know that right?”

“You know that baby, don’t you?”

He didn’t respond so I said;

“Please come home, so we can talk better”

“Outside the house already”

At that, I dropped the call and heard the front gate open and close almost immediately

He walked into the room and I met him with a hug

He hugged me back a little loosely.

 

“This is kinda crazy; we should be celebrating the proposal” I told him holding him closer.

‘‘Hold on a minute Tayana, I think I should also tell you why I proposed marriage to you.’’

  1. I am tired of going to bed hungry on most nights
  2. I felt with all these sexually transmitted diseases around it will be better to put one woman in the house and get it free and constant.
  3. Mum would not let me rest, she keeps asking for grandkids
  4. I chose you out of all others because you are the only one with a well paying job

 

‘‘Is this a joke John? Where is love in all of these things you have said?’’

‘‘Well, I didn’t see love in any of those things you said too.’’

‘‘Its okay then, but I have to say this. You are going to be very miserable in this marriage if it ever happens.’’

  1. I don’t like cooking and marriage won’t make me like it
  2. Who says I won’t be sleeping with other men?
  3. I don’t intend to have kids for the next five years, so your mom has five more years to disturb you.
  4. I would be the only one to spend my money. The best I can do is borrowing you some which will be collected back by any means possible.

 

‘‘Babe you are a clown’’, John said frowning.

‘‘Bebe you are a dunce.’’ I replied drawing my sandals out from under his bed.

He sat on the bed fiddling with his wristwatch and then said; ‘‘Tayana, since we have both realized we are not ready can I have my ring back?’’

 

‘‘No, you can’t have it back, what do you want me to tell my friends who have already seen it on facebook?’’

‘‘You can tell them it got missing, just get creative.’’

‘‘No John, I would have to borrow this for a while and after some time I can tell them you dropped dead and return it to you.’’

‘‘I dropped dead? What sort of nonsense is that?

‘‘Bye John.’’ I said moving to the door of his two room.

‘‘How about a good bye kiss and errm, err….?’’ He asked scratching his head.

 

‘‘I can do that.’’ I replied dropping my bag on the rugged floor and heading towards  him.

Leave a Reply

